Where’s My Merlin?

The idea of working as an apprentice under a great sage has always appealed to me.  All of my favorite fiction revolves around student/teacher relationships.  Some of my favorites ~ Jonathon Livingston Seagull, Way of the Peaceful Warrior, Adventures of a Reluctant Messiah, Hinds Feet on High Places, the Carlos Castaneda books, and the list goes on.

I’ve even found a teacher or two, but I wasn’t a very good student because I was drunk all the time.  I considered becoming a nun (for about two seconds) and I also thought that heading out into the desert for a spirit quest was a sound idea.  I might just try the spirit quest – so that I can say I’ve done it.  But not yet – I’m not in good enough shape.

However, after all of that – while other people might have some sage advice on ideas, life, the universe, and – stuff – I’m the only one who can see behind my eyes – I’m the only one who can walk my path.  So this means it’s probably my heart that I need to learn how to listen to.  That’s the apprenticeship I need to abandon myself to.  And I don’t even have to go to the desert!  It’s right here!

spirit quest

via Daily Prompt: Apprentice

Leave a Reply

