The Elusive P Word

I would not have guessed that there are so many definitions for the word patience.   It means – the capacity to accept or tolerate delay, trouble, or suffering without getting angry or upset.

It’s the quality … as the bearing of provocation, annoyance, misfortune, or pain, without complaint, loss of temper, irritation, or the like.

It’s an ability or willingness to suppress restlessness or annoyance when confronted with delay:

So Patience is a capacity, a quality, an ability, and a willingness.  I think that means we don’t know exactly what it is.  The word isn’t elusive – everything else about seems to be.

I am infused with the desire to not just act with more patience and awareness – but be more patient and aware.  And here’s why –

I found my jacket.  Two weeks passed before I noticed it was even missing last night.  I searched high and low, racked my brain for a memory of the last time I wore it,  wondered if one of the maintenance workers in my loft might have taken it – and came up with nada.

It’s in my son’s car.  I left it in his hotel room.  I don’t remember wearing it and I obviously didn’t remember that I’d been wearing it that night.

Sobriety is full of surprises. This feels like emerging from a sober blackout.  I didn’t know they existed.

Patience check

There’s much work to do.

via Daily Prompt: Infuse

Leave a Reply

